One Italian Summer

I had this one on hold for mooonths, so I was super excited when it was finally my turn to read it and in the summer! (I read this one as an audiobook, which happened to be read by Lauren Graham from Gilmore Girls!).

In One Italian Summer, we meet Katy; a woman in her 30s who has just lost her best friend and mother Carol. When their planned mother- daughter trip to Positano, Italy approaches, Katy decides to embark on the adventure alone, without her husband Eric whom she isn’t even sure she wants to stay married to.

This novel was perfect to read, or listen to in the summer months. I loved how you really felt like you were on the Amalfi Coast taking in the beautiful waters, architecture, and delicious food that Katy experienced. I also thought it was unique how the author took us back in time and introduced a younger Carol who befriended Katy on the trip. Similar to other reviews, I couldn’t connect to Katy’s character as much as I had hoped. However, based on current life situations I am experiencing, I could really relate to the reality of illness in the family. The novel shows us the importance of gratitude, discovering yourself and your passions, but also to love deeply and value time you have.

I felt bad for Katy’s husband Eric who seemed rather supportive, and didn’t care for certain elements of the novel, but overall it was touching and felt very Eat. Pray. Love, like.

What did you think of this Rebecca Serle novel? What’s one place you have always said you’d visit but haven’t had the chance to?

Leave a comment