Driving Adventures

Standard

Good evening everyone! I hope that you all enjoyed your weekend. I just got back from a fun and relaxing weekend at my parents place in Wasaga. If you have been following along with my blog, you will probably know that I recently purchased a used car and have been gearing myself up for larger adventures. If you know me personally, you will know that I haven’t driven too much in my life, as I got accustomed to taking the bus. Although the bus and I had our moments, it was time to part ways and move on to bigger and better things. 3 months later I find myself driving up, by myself to Wasaga beach! During my travels I noted some key points and tips for myself, or fellow adventure seekers when they embark on their next journey.1) Ensure you have a full tank of gas and a fully charged phone- really who wants to be stuck on the road? or not be able to pull over to call someone in case of an emergency. You never know what could or couldn’t happen. Prepare yourself.

2) Have a working radio and A/C– if you don’t have an economy car like mine, in which case you have neither. Yes I do have air blowing out of my vents, but it’s not particularly cold and I do have a radio, but it’s not entirely safe to turn on. I only say have these two available if it’s the summer and/or a long drive. You will get bored, you will get hot and you will want to know traffic reports. Luckily for me I had myself to talk to and warm air blowing on my face. All that aside, I think I made do with what I was given.

3)  Know where you are going. Okay, maybe this should be the first point on the list. Even with GPS, you can never trust those things. Also, half the time the maps are outdated or they will tell you to make an illegal U-turn. That’s not fun, and you aren’t learning your way around. In my case for example, I had a great trip going to Wasaga, it was coming home that threw me off. I was trying to take a new route that was written out for me on paper. I also was trying to listen to what my GPS was telling me. BAD IDEA. They contradicted each other and took me about 20 minutes to re-calculate the right direction. Have your route programmed in your GPS, but also have a plan to pull over to take a look at a map, or ask someone to ensure you are going the right way.

4) Have snacks and water on hand- If you are like me you have to eat often or you’re grumpy. That being said, bring lots of things to snack on for your journey. This includes water, granola bars, even popcorn. You never know when you will be stuck in traffic or feel peckish.

 

5) Be patient, attentive and confident- The final piece to the puzzle. This I am working on. Since, this was my first time driving up to see my parents by myself- and only about the 10th time I’ve been on the highway- I must say that I am still quite proud of myself. Time and practice is all it takes to boost up my confidence as will patience. It’s okay to be lost. You learn how to get to where you are going best this way and if all else fails you get to take a scenic route.

 

It was a great visit and felt great (for both of us) that I could take myself home.

Well, I think I can cross another thing off my list!

driving to visit my parents– yah me I did it!

Where did you go this weekend?

 

 

Leave a Reply

