What if you Knew the Exact Moment You’ll Meet Your Soul mate?

Standard

The other night I was trying to find something funny and entertaining to watch on Netflix, as opposed to watching anything that was boring that can be found all over Netflix (note my sarcasm). I was in the mood for something stupid-funny, since I have been watching a lot of crime/drama shows.

My final pick was a movie called Timer, a 2009 science-fiction romantic comedy about a device that counts down the moment when you will meet your soul mate. BINGO. This sounds interesting. You may not have heard too much about this movie, but I highly recommend it.  It’s avant-garde and witty and kind of plays with the idea that ‘everything happens for a reason’ (this is a statement you will hear me saying quite a lot). Oona, played by actress Emma Caulfield, is a heavy believer in a device implanted in her wrist that will tell her exactly when she’ll meet her soulmate.

To me this kind of mocks online dating coupled with those people who rely so much on schedules, so a few scenes were hilarious. Those who didn’t have a timer were rebels and unique and those who had 4 months, 3 days and 22 minutes going on a date with one who has 1 year, 7 days and 25 minutes were doomed and their relationship ended after their first date. It makes you wonder what our society is like and how relationships work now-a-days. People try so hard to find the one they are meant to be with, work hard at maintaining it and keeping it fresh, who is to say it will last? But, what if it does and its beautiful and taught you things about yourself you never knew before? Sometimes I like to play devils advocate, I also am a believer in the saying ‘everything happens for a reason‘. I don’t think I would want to know when I  will meet my ‘soulmate’ so to say, because I don’t want to be on a scheduled path like that in my life, or stress about that. This is is actually funny for me to say, because I am always thinking and I try to be organized, but I just think there’s enough timed decisions in our life.

I think if it’s meant to be it’ll be and sometimes what you think is your one isn’t, or who you think isn’t may be the one. You know?  Also, if you are happy with the person you are with currently, or happy doing your own thing; that should be your answer. Who is to say that a device can decide this for us?

It makes you think and it makes you laugh and to prevent from spoiling the entire movie I recommend you give it a shot first. Let me know what you think!

Have a good weekend:)

Leave a Reply

